A new diet, just in time for the holidays

November 5, 2005

I started a new diet on Halloween. Halloween!! All that missed candy!! In sharp contrast to Laura’s advice at Starling Fitness, I am doing a diet which restricts my food choices. It’s an experiment. I’m trying it until Thanksgiving Day, at which time I will eat everything that I want to, which will probably not be as much as I anticipate. The Rosedale Diet is supposed to turn me into a fat burning machine and make all my inside systems much more youthful. I’ll let you know. Tonight I made a “pizza” which would have been much better if the recipe hadn’t referred to it as a “pizza.” I weighed myself for the first time today, on a neighbors scale, so that will have to be my benchmark.

My experience: So far my biggest fear of being hungry has been realized, all because of lack of planning. I also feel a little weird. I don’t know how to describe it, I don’t have the icky low blood sugar feeling, but I do feel carb-deprived.

Links

Wish me luck!

4 Responses to “A new diet, just in time for the holidays”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Hi, Braidwood –

    I’ll admit that I’m not a fan of dieting, but I’m happy that Rosedale at least lets you eat some vegetables. And, since you can have greens and good fats, may I recommend my personal favorite, Good Seasons Italian Dressing. It only comes in little packets, and you mix it with vinegar and your choice of oils (usually canola/olive, for me) in the provided cruet. It is by far the tastiest, and you can even put it on cooked vegetables or in marinades. Mmm…

  2. Joel Says:

    If you want to have a healthy diet that is medically sound, check out the one at diabetes.org. It lets you have carbs and vegetables. The rule is that you can have anything you want ~as long as you plan for it~.

  3. Laura Moncur Says:

    Braidwood,

    You feel free to try whatever diet you want. I was talking about my experience with limiting my food choices. Whenever I have tried a diet that tells me I can’t have something, I obsess about whatever it was that they said I couldn’t have.

    Fortunately, not everyone has my problem. For some, it’s much easier to have the structure of a limited choice of foods.

    Whatever works for you is great. Good Luck!

    Laura Moncur

  4. Braidwood Says:

    Thanks, Laura!

    I hope you know that I wasn’t knocking your advice. I was just emphasizing the possible unwiseness and experimental nature (for me) of my new diet. Although, it is going well so far.


Leave a Reply

